AFCAT Syllabus & Exam Pattern

AFCAT Syllabus & Exam Pattern

Air Force Common Admission Test (AFCAT) is conducted by the Indian Air Force twice every year.

AFCAT exam is conducted for recruitment in
(a) Flying Branch
(b) Ground Duty (Technical) Branch
(c) Ground Duty (Non-Technical) Branch

Candidates who passes a graduation degree can apply for the AFCAT exam, provided they meet the complete eligibility requirements.

Candidates are applying for Ground Duty (Technical) Branch need to clear both written test and Engineering Knowledge Test (EKT).

AFCAT and EKT Exam Pattern:

The paper pattern for both the papers in terms of exam mode, type of questions and marking scheme is similar. Read on to get a clear idea about the same:

AFCAT Exam Pattern:

  • AFCAT exam is an online test, conducted in shifts wise in the English language.
  • It will consist of 100 objective questions to be solved within duration of 120 minutes.
  • The maximum marks an aspirant can score in AFCAT Exam is 300.

EKT Exam Pattern:

  • EKT or Engineering Knowledge Test is a meant to test candidate’s engineering knowledge.
  • The test is compulsory for candidates applying for Technical Ground Duty branch.
  • EKT Exam is an online test, conducted in shifts wise in the English language.
Exam AFCAT EKT (Only for Technical)
Mode of Exam Online i.e. computer-based Online i.e. computer-based
No. of Questions 100 50
Maximum Marks 300 150
Duration of Time 120 minutes 45 minutes
Sections in Paper General Awareness, Verbal Ability in English, Numerical Ability and Reasoning and Military Aptitude Test Mechanical, Computer Science and Electrical & Electronics
Negative Marking 1 mark 1 mark
Back To Top