National SPORTS Awards 2020 Announced

On August 21, 2020, National Sports Awards 2020 were announced by the Ministry of Youth Affairs and Sports. The awards were recommended by the Selection Committee headed by Justice (Retd.) Mukundakam Sharma (former Judge of Supreme Court of India) and after due scrutiny, the Government has decided to confer awards upon the deserving sportspersons, coaches and entities under various categories.

7 categories

of National Sports Awards

- Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award
- Dronacharya Award
- Rashtriya Khel Protsahan Puraskar
- Tenzing Norgay National Adventure Award
- Arjuna Award
- Dhyan Chand Award
- Maulana Abul Kalam Azad (MAKA) Trophy

1. Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award

The award is presented to sportspersons with most outstanding performance in the field of sports for a period of four years. The following persons have been selected for the award for the year 2020.

Number of Awardees: 5

Name of the Sportsperson	Discipline
Rohit Sharma	Cricket
Mariyappan Thangavelu	Para Athletics
Manika Batra	Table Tennis
Vinesh Phogat	Wrestling
Rani Rampal	Hockey

Points to be noted:

- Rohit Sharma is only the 4th cricketer after Sachin Tendulkar (1st), Mahendra Singh Dhoni and Virat Kohli to be conferred with Khel Ratna Award.
- Vinesh Phogat became the **first woman wrestler** to win an Asian Games gold medal in 2018.
- Rani became the third hockey player and **first female hockey player** to be recommended for this award.

2. Arjuna Award

This year, 27 sports person have been selected for the award. The winners of the award are presented with a cash prize of Rs 5 lakhs. The award is presented to motivate the sportsperson for their good performances.

Name of the Sportsperson	Discipline
Atanu Das	Archery
Dutee Chand	Athletics
Satwik Sairaj Rankireddy	Badminton
Chirag Chandrasekhar Shetty	Badminton
Vishesh Bhriguvanshi	Basketball
Subedar Manish Kaushik	Boxing
Lovlina Borgohain	Boxing

3. Dronacharya Award

It is awarded to coaches for producing medal winners at International sports events.

Number of Awardees: 13

Life- Time Category

Name of the Coach	Discipline
Dharmendra Tiwary	Archery
Purushotham Rai	Athletics
Shiv Singh	Boxing
Romesh Pathania	Badminton
Krishan Kumar Hooda	Kabaddi





Vijay Bhalchandra Munishwar	Para Powerlifting
Naresh Kumar	Tennis
Om Parkash Dahiya	Wrestling

Regular Category

Number of Awardees: 5

Name of the Coach	Discipline
Jude Felix Sebastian	Hockey
Yogesh Malviya	Mallakhamb
Jaspal Rana	Shooting
Kuldeep Kumar Handoo	Wushu
Gaurav Khanna	Para Badminton

4. Dhyan Chand Award

It is for lifetime contribution to sports development.





5. Rashtriya Khel Protsahan Puraskar

It is given to the corporate entities (both in private and public sector) and individuals who have played a visible role in the area of sports promotion and development.

Number of Awardees: 4

Category	Entity
Identification and Nurturing of Budding and Young Talent	Lakshya Institute Army Sports Institute
Encouragement to sports through Corporate Social Responsibility	Oil and Natural Gas Corporation (ONGC) Ltd.
Employment of sportspersons and sports welfare measures	Air Force Sports Control Board
Sports for Development	International Institute of Sports Management (IISM)

6. Maulana Abul Kalam Azad (MAKA) Trophy

It is given to the overall top performing university in inter-university tournaments.

Number of Awardees: 1

Panjab University, Chandigarh

7. Tenzing Norgay National Adventure Award

It recognises the spirit of adventure among the people of the country.



Name of the Sportsperson	Discipline
Anita Devi	Land Adventure
Col. Sarfraz Singh	Land Adventure
Taka Tamut	Land Adventure
Narender Singh	Land Adventure
Keval Hiren Kakka	Land Adventure
Satendra Singh	Water Adventure
Wing Commander Gajanand Yadava	Air Adventure
Late Shri Magan Bissa	Life Time Achievement