Current Affairs (2023): Sports: At Glance

- * 3rd Khelo India University Games-
- Third edition of the Khelo India University Games concluded at IIT BHU campus in Varanasi.
- The Games were hosted in four cities of Uttar Pradesh from 25th May to 3rd June, in Lucknow, Varanasi, Gorakhpur, and Gautambuddh Nagar.
- Punjab University emerged as the overall champions once again at the Khelo India University Games.
- Pranesh M, youngest grandmaster- 16-year-old Tamil Nadu boy named Pranesh M has been named the 79th Grandmaster of India. Pranesh won the Rilton Cup in the final round of the competition at Stockholm, Sweden, which included 136 players from 29 countries.



Asian Wrestling Championships 2023 - Aman Sehrawat, a freestyle wrestler, won India's 1st gold medal, under the men's 57kg freestyle category, at the Asian Wrestling Championships 2023. India has won 14 medals (one gold, three silvers and 10 bronze) and is ranked 7th in overall medal tally. Kazakhstan was topped in medal tally followed by Japan and Iran.



- * 19th Asian Games 2023- Organized in Hangzhou, China. Heart to Heart, @Future was its slogan. India won 107 medals (28 gold, 38 silvers and 41 bronze), it was the first time in Asian Games history that India's medals tally crossed the three-figure mark and became the only fourth country after China (383), Japan (188) and the Republic of Korea (190) to win 100 medals.
- * National Sports Day 2023- The Objective of National Sports Day is to commemorate the birth anniversary of Hockey Leg End Major Dhyan Chand. First National Sports Day was celebrated on August 29, 2012. The theme of National Sports Day 2023 was "Sports are an enabler to an inclusive and fit society".
- Birsa Munda Hockey Stadium- Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik inaugurated the world's largest dedicated hockey stadium in Rourkela, Odisha.
- 13th Hockey India Senior Men National Championship 2023- 2023 Punjab emerged victorious over Hockey Haryana to clinch the gold medal
- * 2023 Laureus World Sports Awards- The first Laureus World Sports Award ceremony took place on May 25, 2000. American Golfer Tiger Woods was the first winner of this award. It is often referred to as the sporting equivalent of the Oscars. Lionel Messi became the first footballer to be awarded the Sportsman of the Year 2023.
- Wimbledon 2023 Women's Final- Marketa Vondrousova becomes Wimbledon champion, the first unseeded player to do so in the Open Era. She beats last year's runner-up Ons Jabeur at All England Club.
- * E-Sports- E-Sports will now be a part of the multisport event

category in India it is taken care of by the Department of Sports under the Ministry of Youth Affairs and Sports. Online Gaming will be overseen by MEITY (Ministry of Electronics and Information Technology). E-Sports has already received a sporting recognition from the International Olympic Committee (IOC)

- FIFA Women World Cup 2023- The ninth FIFA Women's World Cup was co-hosted by Australia and New Zealand, marking the first time it was held in the Southern Hemisphere. Spain won the event by defeating England in the final. The USA has won the Women's World Cup title four times.
- Men's Hockey World Cup 2023- The 15th edition International Hockey Federation (FIH) Hockey World Cup 2023 was held in Bhubaneswar and Rourkela. Germany won its 3rd Hockey World Cup 2023 title (2002 and 2006) after defeating Belgium in the final held at Kalinga Stadium in Bhubaneswar.
- * Janjatiya Khel Mahotsav- The first Janjatiya Khel Mahotsav, a grand sporting event jointly hosted by the Ministry of Culture, the Odisha Government, and KIIT University, in Bhubaneswar. Odisha emerged as the overall champion in both the men's and women's categories.
- Durand Cup 2023- The 132nd edition of the Durand Cup promises to be truly International, with the participation of foreign teams from Bangladesh, Nepal, and Bhutan. Mohun Bagan Super Giant beat East Bengal (1-0) to win the Durand Cup 2023 trophy at the Salt Lake Stadium in Kolkata, West Bengal.
- Roland-Garros Tournament- Roland-Garros is one of the four Grand Slam tournaments in tennis, along with the Australian Open, Wimbledon and the US Open. Novak Djokovic won his men'srecord 23rd Grand Slam title with a victory over Casper Ruud in French Open Final. Djokovic broke a tie with rival Rafael Nadal for the most major singles trophies in the history of men's tennis.
- Asian Champions Trophy 2023- In a captivating final match of the 2023 Asian Champions Trophy at Mayor Radhakrishnan Hockey Stadium, Chennai India triumphed over Malaysia with a 4-3 scoreline. It is fourth Asian Champions Trophy title after which it surpasses Pakistan's three titles. Harmanpreet Singh emerged as top scorer with total 8 goals.
- Nikhat Zareen wins Gold Medal in 2023 World Boxing Championship- In the World Boxing Championship 2023 Nikhat Zareen beats two-time Asian champion Nguyen Thi Tam 5-0 in the 50kg category to claim the gold medal.
- Badminton Asia Championships 2023: Satwiksairaj Rankireddy and Chirag Shetty's victory is a historic achievement for India. It is only the second gold medal that India has won at the Badminton Asia Championships. The Indian pair defeated the Malaysian duo of Ong Yew Sin and Teo Ee Yi.
- FIFA U20 World Cup 2023- Uruguay beat Italy 1-0 to win its first Under-20 World Cup title held in Argentina. Argentina's Thiago Almada won the Golden Ball award, as the tournament's best player. Nigeria won the Golden Boot award, with 10 goals.
- Asian Kabaddi Championship 2023- India beat Iran 42-32 in the final of the Asian Kabaddi Championship 2023 at the Dong-Eui Institute of Technology Seokdang Cultural Centre in Busan, Republic of Korea.
- The mascot and logo for the 2024 Khelo India Winter Games-Keeping with the region's biodiversity, a snow leopard named 'Sheen-e She' or Shan has been declared the official mascot. The logo integrates the Indian tricolour and symbols of Ladakh.
- BCCI Awards 2024– Jasprit Bumrah, Shubman Gill and Ravichandran Ashwin headlined the awards for International performances in 2022–23, 2021–22 and 2019–20 seasons respectively. The women's awards recognized standout years from Smriti Mandhana and Deepti Sharma over the last 5 seasons