SSC CGL Exam Pattern

ssc chsl

SSC CGL Exam Pattern

Staff Selection Commission has conducted the SSC CGL exam every year for the recruitment to various Group B and Group C posts in various Departments under the Government of India. Staff Selection Commission Combined Graduate Level exam, a major exam for the graduate candidates can apply to get a job in the prestigious ministries of the government for posts such as Tax Assistant, Inspector, Assistant Audit Officer, Auditor, etc.

The SSC CGL Selection Process will require you to pass through 4 stages in order to be eligible to get the appointment letter of desired posts. The SSC CGL notification has mentioned 4 tiers as given below:

  1. Tier-1: Objective Computer-Based Test
  2. Tier-2: Objective Computer-Based Test with 2 compulsory papers and 2 other papers for specific posts
  3. Descriptive Paper in English/Hindi (Pen and Paper mode)

4. Skill Test/Computer Proficiency Test as per the post applied

SC CGL Tier – I Exam Pattern:

Selection Commission (SSC) conducted online comprising of 4 sections with about a 100 questions in total and with maximum marks of 200. The entire exam is needed to be completed in a time span of 60 minutes. There is a negative marking of 0.50 Marks for each wrong answer. Therefore, it has become imperative for aspirants to perform well in four sections to clear the exam
Details are below:


Name of the test

No. of questions

Maximum Marks

Time Allotted

1 General Intelligence and Reasoning 25 50 1 Hour
2 Quantitative Aptitude 25 50
3 English Comprehension 25 50
4 General Awareness 25 50
Total 100 200

SC CGL Tier–II Exam Pattern:
SSC CGL Tier–II Exam comprises of 2 Practice Sets designed to analyze and evaluate the performance of SSC CGL aspirants. Sets are based on the latest exam pattern, the objective of these sets are to help students develop relevant skills which is required to crack the exam. It provides a coverage of all the three sections of the examination. These sets also equips the student with the ability to assign appropriate time to each section during the examination



No. of Questions

Total Marks

Time Allotted

1 Quantitative Ability 100 200 2 Hour
2 English Language and Comprehension 200 200 2 Hour
3 Statistics 100 200 2 Hour
4 General Studies (Finance & Economics) 100 200 2 Hour


Paper-1 and Paper-2 are compulsory for all posts.

Paper-3 is only for the post of “Statistical Investigator Gr. II” & “Compiler”.

Paper-4 is only for the post of “Assistant Audit Officer”.

Giving a wrong answer to a question will lead to a penalty of 0.5 marks in Paper-1, 3, 4 and 0.25 marks in Paper-2.

SSC CGL Tier-3 Exam Pattern:

SSC CGL Tier-3 exam will be a descriptive test. The paper will be in English/Hindi and will constitute of 100 marks. The entire paper needs to be completed in 60 minutes.

SSC CGL Tier- 4 Exam Pattern:

SSC CGL Tier-4 exam is a Computer Skill Test. It will be conducted in two steps: Computer Proficiency Test and Data Entry Skill Test

Date Entry Skill Test (DEST): Candidates are required to type 2000 words in 15 minutes on a computer in English. This test is conducted to check a candidate’s writing skills.

Computer Proficiency Test (CPT):  This test is conducted to check a candidate’s proficiency in Word Processing, Spreadsheets and Generation of Slides.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back To Top
Open chat